Evening Live In Caregiver for Senior Woman

Job Detail

  • Position Caregiver
  • Experience Less Than 1 Year
  • Regions AB Southern Alberta

Job Description

Description and Responsibilities

  • Evening Live In Caregiver for 80 year old woman in her home near Millarville AB
  • Available hours to work 4:30 pm til 8:30 am, 5 to 6 days a week
  • Client had stroke and is in a wheelchair, transfers using Lift in and out of bed and Sit to Stand on and off commode
  • Evening responsibilities include preparing, serving and cleaning up evening meal and spending quality time with client
  • Personal care for about 1.5 hrs. to prepare her for bedtime which is usually 10 pm
  • Caregiver provides emotional caring support to client
  • Client usually sleeps through the night and does not need nursing care
  • Caregiver resides in the lower level of the house (no lock off) and uses a monitor for communication upstairs with client during the night to provide care as needed
  • Caregiver space includes private full bathroom, bedroom, entrance and living room
  • Second bedroom dedicated for an alternate caregiver to sleep on their nights off
  • Upper level of the home is shared space with kitchen, laundry, living room, seasonal greenhouse
  • Responsibilities outside of evening care hours include care for the home: cleaning some floors, shovelling snow, watering plants, feeding the birds, clean windows and appliances (as needed)
  • Caregiver works with client for weekly menu planning, and enjoys evening meal with client, groceries will be provided
  • Works cooperatively to communicate with Daytime Care Staff and daughter of client to ensure all supplies and equipment are cared for and any medical concerns are addressed
  • Open to holistic approach to health care needs
  • Payment is a flat fee per day, dependent upon expereince

Requirements

  • Caring, compassionate healthy woman, enjoys working with seniors (and has the capacity to provide emotional, mental and physical support), driver’s license and own vehicle, enjoys country life
  • Resume, references, police record check
  • Prefer experience with elder care and health caring service (but not required, willing to train)
  • Non-smoker
  • No cats or dogs or children

Benefits

  • Includes: private accommodation and healthy evening meal, internet, garage
  • Country home with gardens and mountain view
  • Day hours available for other employment